WHAT THE PRESS SAY:

TRIP ADVISOR REVIEWS:

Trip Advisor logo

Click on one of the links below to view reviews on the Trip Advisor website

Beacon View Barn

Dale View Barn

WHAT OUR GUESTS SAY:

Beacon View Barn December 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  The most perfect break in a long time. The recharge that was sought. The place to rest that sets the bar. The landscape that you don't want to leave. Thank you!

Beacon View Barn November 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  Thank you so much for another fantastic week in your beautiful barn. This is our fourth time now and it really is starting to feel like a second home! The boys have had an amazing week and don't want to leave.  We have packed a lot in - lovely walks to the Moors National Park Centre and the Cycle Hub.  Whitby Abbey illuminated on Halloween, fossil finding at Saltwick Nab...

Beacon View Barn October 2018

Yearly gathering of old friends, from all over, Birmingham, Leicestershire, Cumbria, Worcestershire and Northumberland. Had the pleasure of occupying the barns. Beautiful, homely accommodation in stunning setting. Just what we needed to relax and reboot our batteries. During our week, we only had reason to venture out once for supplies. Lovely walks all over from the door. Surprisingly we...

Dale View Barn September 2018

It's always a gamble coming back to a place where you have experienced a wonderful holiday 〰️ but our second visit to Dale View hasn't disappointed at all! Same lovely welcome, same fabulous accommodation and the same attention to little details that we appreciated so much last time. Our friends from Oz particularly appreciated the hoisting of the Australian flag for the duration of their stay....

Beacon View Barn September 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Many thanks for allowing us to stay in your wonderful barn. Beacon View is by far the best holiday let we have stayed in and you could not ask for a more picturesque setting. Our first visit to the area but we will definitely be back. Highlights were Staithes, Helmsley, Hutton le Hole and the Cliff Tramway at Saltburn. George will miss playing in the garden with his bunny...

BEACON VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

We have had the most relaxing week here in Beacon View! a beautifully appointed cottage, it has everything we needed for the week with fantastic enclosed garden space and spectacular views. We particularly enjoyed Runswick Bay as a beach with good facilities, perfect sand for the children and a chance to search for fossils! The North York Moors Centre in Danby is a must - our kids enjoyed the...

DALE VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

Thank you so much Liz and Danny for allowing us to share your beautiful barn and views. We've had an amazing time, loved every minute. The barn itself is fantastic - we go away to a lot of barns and lodges all over England and Wales - this is the best we have ever stayed in, just really don't want to leave. The views are amazing and loved seeing the wildlife especially the 2 deers in the next...

DALE VIEW BARN AUGUST2018

Wonderful, idyllic setting for our summer holiday. Thank you so much Liz and Danny for making us feel so welcome; the girls loved feeding the doves!  We would highly recommend Dalby Forest (thank you for the car park pass) and the birds of prey centre in Thirsk - a bit of a drive but well worth it to spend half a day. Thank you again!

BEACON VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

This was a little different to our normal family holidays, but was one of our favourites.The first time we have been on holiday with our dog Max and he also thoroughly enjoyed it. We went on lots of walks such as Helmsley to Rievaulx Abbey and back. Great Ayton to and up Roseberry Topping then down and round Captain Cooks Monument.  Runswick Bay to Staithes and back, and of course from our...

BEACON VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

A very special place to spend our 1st wedding anniversary, and a beautiful, warm, friendly welcome back from Liz and Danny. The cottage is a dream and the setting idyllic. Thanks for welcoming Muffin too.

BEACON VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

What a lovely relaxing place, just felt calm as soon as I got here. What a view and only the sounds are sheep and birds. The cottage is a delight and has been great for our disabled person who has enjoyed the stay very much.The dog (Zander) has loved the garden and we enjoyed having breakfast outside at the beginning of the holiday. Enjoyed several pubs, the Lion and the Board Inn at Lealholm...

DALE VIEW BARN AUGUST 2018

Lovely characterful accommodation with fantastic views. We enjoyed walking to Castleton, Danby Castle and Danby church. We loved the moors and the views. Visited Goathland and walked to the Mallyan Spout and Beckhole. Good meal at The Board Inn. We've had a great time. Thank you.

DALE VIEW BARN JULY2018

Thank you Liz and Danny!  We've had a lovely time in your beautiful barn. A wonderful location and fantastic weather! We've enjoyed meals at The Lion on the Moor and The Board Inn My favourite place to visit was Runswick.  We love Yorkshire! x

Beacon View Barn July 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  Thank you for a wonderful holiday! The barn is beautiful and we loved sitting out on the patio. Everything was great for the little one too. Thank you also for the warm welcome and hospitality throughout our stay. We enjoyed our days out Robin Hood's Bay, Castle Howard and Whitby (great farm shop and fishmongers for the BBQ!) but the highlight was Runswick Bay - beautifully...

HEATHER VIEW BARN MAY 2018

This has been the perfect base for our family to celebrate our daughter's wedding nearby. The cottages are beautiful and we have had everything we needed here, comfortable and relaxing, we have all enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you for the Prosecco and cake, lovely touches - we will definitely recommend.

DALE VIEW BARN JUNE 2018

We had a super week based in Dale View Barn which is a stunning property beautifully converted, furnished and cosy. The location is ideally located so that we were able to visit Nunnington and Ormesby Manor Houses, Whitby, Scarborough and the lovely village of Staithes. We also managed a visit to Eden Camp Museum which had us enthralled with the authenticity of the exhibits.  The Jewel in the...

BEACON VIEW BARN JULY 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Many thanks for such a wonderful time in the most beautiful setting EVER. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this stunning cottage. Being a permanent wheelchair user I have found it very suitable for accessibility we will definitely be back. Thank you once again.

DALE VIEW BARN JULY 2018

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The views are so stunning and we loved having breakfast outside by the BBQ overlooking the Dale. We had a great time boating at Ruswarp, and a delicious meal at 'Bridge Cottage Bistro' Sandsend. The walled garden at Helmsley was spectacular and the cafe serves excellent food. Great pub food at Sinnington the Fox and Hounds. We really enjoyed the morning walk to...

BEACON VIEW BARN JUNE 2018

Many thanks Liz and Danny for a smashing stay at Beacon view. Beautiful surroundings, terrific accommodation and wonderful warm and friendly welcome. We had a great time and look forward to returning. PS George and Jess said they'd like to come back too (woof woof) PPS The only improvement would be to have greeted by the sound of the ukulele!

BEACON VIEW BARN JUNE 2018

Everything we could possibly need ; thank you.  We have had a very busy week, there is so much to do. A trip to Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, Saltburn. Amazing waves in Saltburn, great watching the surfers. The highlight for our grand daughter has been the Moors Centre and the climbing wall, and the steam train at Grosmont, and afternoon tea in the village. We enjoyed meals at the Fox and Hounds...

Beacon View Barn April 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Thank you for a wonderful stay in your amazing 5* Beacon View.  Few trips in life are as good as they look in the pictures, Beacon View was even better. Thank you again, we hope we will be able to visit again in the future.    Wiltshire

Dale View Barn April 2018

We've had a lovely few days staying here just the two of us. The barn couldn't have been more comfortable and well equipped, and thank you Liz for making us so welcome. We went on a great walk from the Cicerone North York Moors book, which goes practically past the door, and a great day out in Whitby with fish and chips on the beach. We're very sad to have to go a day early, but we hope to...

Heather View Barns April 2018

Many thanks to Liz and Danny for a week in your wonderful barns. So warm and comfortable with all the equipment anyone would need!  Visited the statue on the Moor- fabulous. Also had a great family meal at the new Star Inn the Harbour Whitby - Absolutely delicious.  Would love to return - hopefully with a bit better weather! Thanks again.

Dale View Barn March 2018

Lovely week in a stunning property - beautifully converted and furnished and warm! Utility room is a real bonus.  Lucky week with the weather and able to get lots of walking, muddy in the woods but generally fine. Spring is late this year and daffodils not out in Farndale yet but should be good after Easter. The recently opened cliff edge section of the Cleveland Way south of Staithes is a big...

 

WHAT OUR GUESTS SAY – LIST:

Read reviews from Beacon View below, or skip to Dale View, or Heather View (the two barns taken together).

 

BEACON VIEW

December 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  The most perfect break in a long time. The recharge that was sought. The place to rest that sets the bar. The landscape that you don’t want to leave. Thank you!

November 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  Thank you so much for another fantastic week in your beautiful barn. This is our fourth time now and it really is starting to feel like a second home! The boys have had an amazing week and don’t want to leave.  We have packed a lot in – lovely walks to the Moors National Park Centre and the Cycle Hub.  Whitby Abbey illuminated on Halloween, fossil finding at Saltwick Nab beach. A train ride from Goathland to Pickering and lots of cafe stops with cake!  The boys loved ‘trick or treating’ you Thank you so much for all the effort you go to to make us so welcome.  We will definitely be back!

October 2018

Yearly gathering of old friends, from all over, Birmingham, Leicestershire, Cumbria, Worcestershire and Northumberland. Had the pleasure of occupying the barns. Beautiful, homely accommodation in stunning setting. Just what we needed to relax and reboot our batteries. During our week, we only had reason to venture out once for supplies. Lovely walks all over from the door. Surprisingly we managed to navigate to the Fox and Hounds pub, Ainthorpe on several occasions, just up our street, good food, nice pint and friendly locals to chew the cud with and most importantly dog friendly.  The sitting man, work a look if nothing more, the views are stunning not too much effort required to get there.  If you follow the public footpath between the two barns and join onto the Esk Valley route, it is well sign posted and a lovely walk, we then dropped onto another footpath onto Danby Rigg, grouse everywhere, clear footpath/bridleway then drops into Ainthorpe. You know you’ve had a good day, when the dog has passed out and you’re in bed by 9.30 after a cheeky glass of vino. Beautiful place sorry to be leaving so soon.

September 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Many thanks for allowing us to stay in your wonderful barn. Beacon View is by far the best holiday let we have stayed in and you could not ask for a more picturesque setting. Our first visit to the area but we will definitely be back. Highlights were Staithes, Helmsley, Hutton le Hole and the Cliff Tramway at Saltburn. George will miss playing in the garden with his bunny friend!

August 2018

We have had the most relaxing week here in Beacon View! a beautifully appointed cottage, it has everything we needed for the week with fantastic enclosed garden space and spectacular views. We particularly enjoyed Runswick Bay as a beach with good facilities, perfect sand for the children and a chance to search for fossils! The North York Moors Centre in Danby is a must – our kids enjoyed the playground, climbing wall, and hunting for the dragon. Our children also enjoyed the boat trips at Whitby, just 20 minutes it was the perfect adventure! We can’t wait to come back!

August 2018

This was a little different to our normal family holidays, but was one of our favourites.The first time we have been on holiday with our dog Max and he also thoroughly enjoyed it. We went on lots of walks such as Helmsley to Rievaulx Abbey and back. Great Ayton to and up Roseberry Topping then down and round Captain Cooks Monument.  Runswick Bay to Staithes and back, and of course from our doorstep to the Man on the Moor. I grew up in N.Yorkshire (Guisborough) but moved to London 30 years ago + and I forgot how wonderful it is. Beacon View has been perfect and met and exceeded all our needs and expectations. We are already discussing a potential return with other South East based family members and have lots and lots of things to tick off up here. Many thanks to Liz and Danny

August 2018

A very special place to spend our 1st wedding anniversary, and a beautiful, warm, friendly welcome back from Liz and Danny. The cottage is a dream and the setting idyllic. Thanks for welcoming Muffin too.

August 2018

What a lovely relaxing place, just felt calm as soon as I got here. What a view and only the sounds are sheep and birds. The cottage is a delight and has been great for our disabled person who has enjoyed the stay very much.The dog (Zander) has loved the garden and we enjoyed having breakfast outside at the beginning of the holiday. Enjoyed several pubs, the Lion and the Board Inn at Lealholm especially.

July 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  Thank you for a wonderful holiday! The barn is beautiful and we loved sitting out on the patio. Everything was great for the little one too. Thank you also for the warm welcome and hospitality throughout our stay. We enjoyed our days out Robin Hood’s Bay, Castle Howard and Whitby (great farm shop and fishmongers for the BBQ!) but the highlight was Runswick Bay – beautifully sandy beach in a lovely setting (good to arrive early) The Fox and Hounds Inn, Ainthorpe is walkable along the back roads (not too many cars, but take care) is open all day and has great views.We’re sorry to be leaving and hope to come back one day.

July 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Many thanks for such a wonderful time in the most beautiful setting EVER. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this stunning cottage. Being a permanent wheelchair user I have found it very suitable for accessibility we will definitely be back. Thank you once again.

June 2018

A very relaxing, well kitted out place to stay. A beautiful space in the living area. We enjoyed our time. We would recommend Staithes and Robin Hood’s Bay. Walk from Robin Hood’s Bay to Ravens Hall Hotel (Nice lunch and lovely gardens) and back. Walk from Kildale to Slapewath very full of great views. Thank you Liz and Danny.

June 2018

Many thanks Liz and Danny for a smashing stay at Beacon view. Beautiful surroundings, terrific accommodation and wonderful warm and friendly welcome. We had a great time and look forward to returning. PS George and Jess said they’d like to come back too (woof woof) PPS The only improvement would be to have been greeted by the sound of the ukulele!

June 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. After searching for places to stay and finding plenty of ‘cosy’ fisherman’s cottages we came across your farm and barns. Just what we were looking for! but upon arrival Beacon Barn definitely exceeded expectations. So peaceful and tranquil! When sitting outside enjoying the view all you have are the sheep, birds and buzzing of bees! Bliss! And if you are lucky you will spot the Barn Owl looking for it’s dinner about 8.30 in the evening. We have had some fab days out at the Lavender farm great for lunch and tea! Whitby Magpie cafe had a filling fish and chip lunch, Saltburn for walking on the pier, donkey rides on the beach and a walk up Valley Gardens. A day in York and afternoon tea at Betty’s was a treat! Beadlam Grange Farmshop was fab for meat and stocking up. Thank you Liz and Danny for a wonderful base.

June 2018

Everything we could possibly need ; thank you.  We have had a very busy week, there is so much to do. A trip to Whitby, Robin Hood’s Bay, Saltburn. Amazing waves in Saltburn, great watching the surfers. The highlight for our grand daughter has been the Moors Centre and the climbing wall, and the steam train at Grosmont, and afternoon tea in the village. We enjoyed meals at the Fox and Hounds Ainthorpe, the Lion on the moors, and the Eskdale. Foss Falls tea rooms very good too. We hope to be back.

April 2018

Dear Liz and Danny. Thank you for a wonderful stay in your amazing 5* Beacon View.  Few trips in life are as good as they look in the pictures, Beacon View was even better. Thank you again, we hope we will be able to visit again in the future.  Wiltshire

February 2018

Dear Liz and Danny.  We have had a fantastic week in your barn, thank you!  A great place for a big family with three small children and a dog! Plenty to entertain the kids in a safe (i.e. childproof) house.  Dalby Forest is a great place to visit when it is too cold and windy on the moors although we got out on shorter walks even in the hail and sleet.  Thanks again and all the best. Newmarket

January 2018

We have had a wonderful few days in this gorgeous barn! Lots of space for 6 adults, yet warm and cosy. A real home from home!

Runswick Bay, Whitby, York – and lots of lovely walks straight from the barn.

A lovely birthday celebration! Thanks for the cake and fizz – infact, thank you for everything – 5 stars! 🙂

Oxford

 

January 2018

Dear Liz and Danny,  Once again Crag House Farm has proved to be the perfect venue for unwinding and meeting up with old friends.  Despite inclement weather, we managed a number of memorable walks, not least to the newly installed ‘Man on the Hill’ sculpture.  It was always good to return to the snug and luxurious comforts of the Barn.  With our thanks and good wishes.

 

  • Christmas 2017
  • Our week here is the highlight of our Christmas every year and we can’t wait to come back. The most peaceful and relaxing family holiday in this gorgeous barn and countryside. Thank you Liz and Danny

 

  • October 2017
    Lovely house and location – we have enjoyed every minute of our long week end in this beautiful part of North Yorkshire.  Visits to the coast enjoyed by the children, great walks around the property and Castleton.  It has been perfect in every way for our little family getaway. Thank you for all the extra special little touches like the cake and bubblies! Fantastic – we hope to be back:-)  (three generations)

 

  • September 2017
    Our stay has been everything we had hoped for – thank you for all your help. We’ve enjoyed some outstanding walks in Ainthorpe, Farndale and around Gregory’s Minster in Kirkdale which is worth seeking out. A particular highlight was a quick afternoon stroll up to the ‘seated man’ just over the road affording excellent views towards Roseberry all from our front door.  Best wishes to Liz and Danny and happy holidays to the next lucky guests. Jane and Paul.

 

  • August 2017
    Liz and Danny – thank you for another great week at Beacon View. Such a beautiful part of the world and an amazing barn to come back to at the end of each day. Every detail has been thought of. The kids have loved the freedom of the outdoor space and all the toys and games. Many thanks. (three generations)

 

  • August 2017
    Dear Liz and Danny. Thank you for having us all at Beacon View Cottage.  We have had a lovely time enjoying numerous trips to Whitby for ‘fish and chips’. Rock pooling at Saltburn and Robin Hood’s Bay,  Luke caught fish, crabs, Hermit crabs, shrimps and snails. A trip to Scarborough’s  Sea Life Centre was also a hit! Meals at The Fox and Hounds, Ainthorpe and the Lion Inn at  Blakey also good.  Views were beautiful from the cottage especially when sunny. Facilities in the cottage were 5 star, toys and games were very welcome, comfy sofa’s welcome after a long day of walking.  Luke also loved the rocking horse. Once again many thanks.  (Luke also added :-)) Thank you for a lovely time I loved the sheep and Doves. Norwich.

 

  • July 2017
    We have had a lovely time here at Beacon View. The barn and the furnishings are fantastic and the scenery spectacular. We have all enjoyed the (immaculate) garden and our kids have had a great time running around watching the sheep and rabbits and playing with all the toys that Liz and Danny have kindly provided over the week.  They have especially enjoyed watching the ‘Mummy’ bird raise her three chicks in the nest on the bathroom window ledge – magical. We have enjoyed some great days out too. Leigh on Sea, Essex.

 

  • June 2017
    Thank you Liz and Danny for allowing us to stay in your wonderful Beacon View Barn with it’s spectacular views and lovely outdoor seating area and garden. So much space inside with everything we needed, we have been very comfortable, relaxed and happy here.  Poppy dog has also loved it, especially the wild life! Jean and John. Devon

 

  • May 2017
    Dear Liz and Danny.  Thank you for your warm and generous hospitality. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Beacon View and have appreciated both the elegance and thoughtful touches that characterise the cottage throughout. Our stay has been enriched by the spectacular scenery, interesting local walks and trips to the coast, especially Robin Hood’s Bay, Whitby and Saltburn. Liz  and Ian.

 

  • May 2017 
    Dear Liz and Danny.  We have much to thank you for, a great holiday break in your beautifully organised, well-designed barn. You have equipment kitchen wise and in every place to cover all eventualities. Very comfortable beds and the wonders of the wet room a great experience!! My daughters had wonderful walks and we appreciated the Scottish flag. Hope you have a great season in 2017 and expect to see you again. Highlights – Esk Valley railway trip.  Circular walk from the house – Castleton via Westerdale. Sheila. East Lothian.

 

  • May 2017
    Thank you for a lovely week in your fantastic Barn. Liz and Danny were extremely welcoming made us feel at home. Loved sitting out in the outside barn, perfect for eating out and listening to amazing birdsong in the valley.  We had great days out riding our bikes in the Danby area and also in Dalby Forest.  The barn is ideal for wheelchair user. Fantastic ice cream at Hutton le Hole and Rosedale Abbey – beautiful villages all on the doorstep – perfect location for moors, coast, Dales– Excellent. Thank you Liz + Danny and hope to see you again soon. Sam. Cumbria

 

  • April 2017
    Thank you for a superb holiday Liz and Danny.  Beautiful barn, lovely hospitality, amazing garden and views… the first ‘cottage’ we have ever stayed in where it is even better in person!!  It’s so lovely to have a safe place to explore and play with our 3 littlies!

 

  • March 2017
    Perfect! absolutely perfect! We have thoroughly enjoyed our short break in much loved scenery, the area is beautiful in any weather.  Danny and Liz, you have made this break extra special, the welcome + friendliness makes so much difference and yours was 5*!Lincoln

 

  • February 2017
    We have had a lovely time finding fossils on the beach at Sandsend, walking through Crow Wood in Danby and visiting the centre – souvenir brass rubbings will be part of show and tell at Lilly’s school. Thank you for your friendly reception and kindness to the grandchildren.

 

  • February 2017
    Dear Liz and Danny, we have all had the most wonderful time at Beacon View and been blessed with blue skies and sunshine. The scenery is breathtaking, the walks amazing and we have fallen in love with the N. York Moors! A perfect retreat from the madness of city life! Sarah Ian and family

 

  • January 2017
    Many many thanks for a simply wonderful stay. Perfect for some great coast and dales walks. Ideal for sharing elderly relatives with family in Newcastle and Northallerton and an amazing place for us to explore with Stan the Labrador. Even the sun shone for us all week in January!!

 

  • December 2016
    First time for us in Beacon View having spent 2 visits next door and can honestly say this is just as nice if not better! Thank you so much Liz and Danny we don’t want to go home!Mick Jane Joe Will and Ziggy

 

DALE VIEW

September 2018

It’s always a gamble coming back to a place where you have experienced a wonderful holiday 〰️ but our second visit to Dale View hasn’t disappointed at all! Same lovely welcome, same fabulous accommodation and the same attention to little details that we appreciated so much last time. Our friends from Oz particularly appreciated the hoisting of the Australian flag for the duration of their stay.   We enjoyed trips to Whitby, the Moors Centre (where there was a fine exhibition of textile art) and Helmsley. Also a trip to York in the rain where we spent much of the day drinking cocktails in the ‘Evil Eye’  (I would recommend the Espresso Martini!). But most of all, we enjoyed the views, the peace and quiet and the amazing home from home. x

August 2018

Thank you so much Liz and Danny for allowing us to share your beautiful barn and views. We’ve had an amazing time, loved every minute. The barn itself is fantastic – we go away to a lot of barns and lodges all over England and Wales – this is the best we have ever stayed in, just really don’t want to leave. The views are amazing and loved seeing the wildlife especially the 2 deers in the next field, the hedgehog on the lawn every night and the barn owl on the roof, not forgetting the beautiful doves. Will definitely be back.

August 2018

Wonderful, idyllic setting for our summer holiday. Thank you so much Liz and Danny for making us feel so welcome; the girls loved feeding the doves!  We would highly recommend Dalby Forest (thank you for the car park pass) and the birds of prey centre in Thirsk – a bit of a drive but well worth it to spend half a day. Thank you again!

August 2018

Lovely characterful accommodation with fantastic views. We enjoyed walking to Castleton, Danby Castle and Danby church. We loved the moors and the views. Visited Goathland and walked to the Mallyan Spout and Beckhole. Good meal at The Board Inn. We’ve had a great time. Thank you.

July 2018

Thank you Liz and Danny!  We’ve had a lovely time in your beautiful barn. A wonderful location and fantastic weather! We’ve enjoyed meals at The Lion on the Moor and The Board Inn My favourite place to visit was Runswick.  We love Yorkshire! x

July 2018

Thank you for a wonderful stay. The views are so stunning and we loved having breakfast outside by the BBQ overlooking the Dale. We had a great time boating at Ruswarp, and a delicious meal at ‘Bridge Cottage Bistro’ Sandsend. The walled garden at Helmsley was spectacular and the cafe serves excellent food. Great pub food at Sinnington the Fox and Hounds. We really enjoyed the morning walk to Castleton (about one hour round trip) you can use the footpath just down from the barn and left or continue down the road and take the Esk Valley walk (well sign posted). Make it a circular walk by coming back through the gated road through the dale. Go Ape at Dalby Forest was a hit with the teenagers. Lovely walks there too, cycles for hire and Segway tours so a great day out. The Discovery Pass gives you free access and 10% or 15% off Go Ape. Many Thanks.

June 2018

We had a super week based in Dale View Barn which is a stunning property beautifully converted, furnished and cosy. The location is ideally located so that we were able to visit Nunnington and Ormesby Manor Houses, Whitby, Scarborough and the lovely village of Staithes. We also managed a visit to Eden Camp Museum which had us enthralled with the authenticity of the exhibits.  The Jewel in the Crown was a visit to Castle Howard, a splendid property which has long been our ambition to visit.  Coming home to get our feet up in the evenings was always a pleasure and the Prosecco, cake and milk were a real bonus on arrival. Many thanks. We will be back.

April 2018

We’ve had a lovely few days staying here just the two of us. The barn couldn’t have been more comfortable and well equipped, and thank you Liz for making us so welcome. We went on a great walk from the Cicerone North York Moors book, which goes practically past the door, and a great day out in Whitby with fish and chips on the beach. We’re very sad to have to go a day early, but we hope to return for a longer stay.

March 2018

Lovely week in a stunning property – beautifully converted and furnished and warm! Utility room is a real bonus.  Lucky week with the weather and able to get lots of walking, muddy in the woods but generally fine. Spring is late this year and daffodils not out in Farndale yet but should be good after Easter. The recently opened cliff edge section of the Cleveland Way south of Staithes is a big improvement on the old route.  Good to get up Roseberry Topping again even if we did catch a brief hailstorm at the top.  Ormesby Hall was worth a visit for the friendly volunteers and the model railways, as well as a pleasant tearoom. The Magpie and Trenchers in Whitby both keep up their standards for fish and chips, and the Lion on Blakey Ridge is always good for pub food, but massive portions so build up an appetite first. Real Meals in Saltburn did a very nice sharing platter.  Really relaxing week, wish we could stay longer.  Family from Cheshire.

 

February 2018

Thank you Liz and Danny for a lovely weekend away.  The house was so cosy and well equipped and we enjoyed relaxing by the fire in the evenings.  We enjoyed a fab pub lunch and watched the rugby at the Fox and Hounds pub.  The sprinkling os snow made everything even more beautiful.  Thanks again. Group of friends.  Lincolnshire.

  • Christmas 2017
  • What a lovely home away from home – beautiful touches throughout make all the difference.  The Christmas tree looked tall and bright a fantastic piece of decor and a wonderful place for our presents.  The hosts are very accommodating, thank you for our visit to your amazing Dale View Barn, the countryside is stunning. All the best for 2018.

 

  • November 2017
    Thank you for a fantastic 50th birthday celebration! What a beautiful home you’ve done an amazing job and thought of everything even down to the bubbly and cake!! This is most definitely a five-star property! Will definitely be back in and recommend this property to friends and family. Libby and Ian Durham.

 

  • October 2017
    A brilliant week of walking and touring and enjoying our wonderful accommodation – second visit! Great night at the ukulele evening! Thank you Liz and Danny. Liz and Richard. Australia.

 

  • October 2017
    It was so kind of you to have a bottle of bubbly and to collect a cake for my birthday. The boys also loved the Halloween decorations and chocolate! We had a great day out at Rievaulx Abbey and did some lovely walks on the moors. We also had a great meal at the board in Lealholm thanks again we hope to return soon. PS Thanks also for letting the boys feed the doves! Northumberland.

 

  • September 2017
    It was so lovely to arrive to such a beautiful home in such an amazing location. Loved everything about our stay & great walks in Whitby, Mallyan Spout and up to see the statue (of Jeremy Corbyn!) up on the hill opposite. Nice – but way too big. A meal at the Lion and a few great meals in the beautiful kitchen.  Thanks so much for the lovely welcome goodies – and it was so kind of you to buy us the scrabble! Thank you.  Would love to return and sad to leave! Braintree Essex.

 

  • August 2017
    We’ve had a fantastic week! We love the barn – comfortable, tasteful, stylish, clean… and the garden – We enjoyed  sitting in the glorious sunshine or playing croquet. Great trips out to Rievaulx Abbey, Whitby, Pickering, the White Horse, Helmsley, York and a long walk up on Danby Rigg. Amazing countryside and friendly locals too!  We would definitely return one day… thank you both very much. Ludwigsburg Germany.

 

  • August 2017
    Thank you for such a lovely stay!  The barn is beautiful and I think we’ve tried out every single board game / Puzzle / outdoor activity it had to offer, who says 17 and 19 are too old for games!! We’ve enjoyed some nice days at the seaside, we especially enjoyed Whitby and all it’s quaint little streets (and lots of dogs!) York was also a highlight – There is a brand-new Harry Potter shop which Amy and dad explored! Thanks again for being so accommodating. We will miss the beautiful views the friendly northerners and all the sheep!!  PS The lemon cake was delicious! Northamptonshire.

 

  • July 2017
    Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay in your beautiful barn it was the perfect location for our babies first holiday!  We absolutely love Yorkshire, such a hidden gem, with views that rival Scotland!  Thank you again for your Yorkshire hospitality– this county is the friendliest place in the world. Scotland.

 

  • March 2017
    Dale View and our hosts represent everything we desired from a stay in Yorkshire – and the weather was fabulous too!  Perfect – enough said.

 

  • February 2017
    Highlights have been the view from Roseberry topping, the birds of Prey Centre in Helmsley, fish and chips in Whitby & cycling in Dalby Forest.  Thank you for all your helpful advice about pub meals/ catering and all the thoughtful things the barn is equipped with which have made for a super week.

 

  • New Year
    A fab week in a beautiful barn and amazing weather! Everything we could have hoped for and more. Going home relaxed and refreshed ready to start another new year. Thanks for everything and making us so warm and cosy! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

HEATHER VIEW

October 2018

Yearly gathering of old friends, from all over, Birmingham, Leicestershire, Cumbria, Worcestershire and Northumberland. Had the pleasure of occupying the barns. Beautiful, homely accommodation in stunning setting. Just what we needed to relax and reboot our batteries. During our week, we only had reason to venture out once for supplies. Lovely walks all over from the door. Surprisingly we managed to navigate to the Fox and Hounds pub, Ainthorpe on several occasions, just up our street, good food, nice pint and friendly locals to chew the cud with and most importantly dog friendly.  The sitting man, work a look if nothing more, the views are stunning not too much effort required to get there.  If you follow the public footpath between the two barns and join onto the Esk Valley route, it is well sign posted and a lovely walk, we then dropped onto another footpath onto Danby Rigg, grouse everywhere, clear footpath/bridleway then drops into Ainthorpe. You know you’ve had a good day, when the dog has passed out and you’re in bed by 9.30 after a cheeky glass of vino. Beautiful place sorry to be leaving so soon.

May 2018

This has been the perfect base for our family to celebrate our daughter’s wedding nearby. The cottages are beautiful and we have had everything we needed here, comfortable and relaxing, we have all enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you for the Prosecco and cake, lovely touches – we will definitely recommend.

April 2018

Many thanks to Liz and Danny for a week in your wonderful barns. So warm and comfortable with all the equipment anyone would need!  Visited the statue on the Moor- fabulous. Also had a great family meal at the new Star Inn the Harbour Whitby – Absolutely delicious.  Would love to return – hopefully with a bit better weather! Thanks again.  Family gathering together from across the U.K.

 

  • September 2017
    Here we are again – A third visit for some and ` first for others – all wonderful! This year we took both barns, that worked really well and much discussion of which was best – still to be decided, they’re both great.  Thanks for a wonderful week end and we will be back.

 

  • June 2017
    Thank you for the pre visit information and help along the way.
    Dear Liz and Danny.  The two barns were wonderful.  A perfect setting for our family of 9!  Lots of great memories to take away.  Our trips to Hutton le Hole, Helmsley Castle, Whitby, Eden Camp, Danby Moors Centre – (Patrick loved the Woodlings)- Danby Castle and Robin Hoods Bay.The wild life was magical – David’s morning run rewarded by a glimpse of a Pine Martin in the lovely Danby churchyard. Evening strolls to watch for rabbits, barn owls and one little hedgehog. Great photo’s of the doves which we loved to feed and one little flycatcher in it’s nest with 4 eggs!Lots of great eating…fish and chips in the Marine (I had Clams and garlic ..yummy) Ice cream in Hutton le Hole and cake from the chocolate factory.  Every good wish.  Belfast

 

  • May 2017
    Heather View – enjoying the best of both barns! 
    What a great place for a family ‘get together’. Amazing views and plenty of room across both barns for us all to socialise and eat together. Really enjoyed the long week end. Thank you from three families.